BOK      DEVON      KERNO      NGOC      NWO        QO        SARUM      WIM      WSX      UBOC

British Orienteering      SCOA    Welsh OA     WMOA      BAOC     SWJOS     British Schools OA
British MBO     Orienteering England     SEOUL

Galoppen League…

This is an annual competition running from September to Spring based on scores from a series of colour-coded events.

Overall scores after nine events can be found here (Amended 19th May)
Overall scores for 2017/18 can be found here

Prize Winners 2018/19:


Winner: Chesters (Ben) SARUM

Top Junior: Grierson (Flurry) DEVON


Winner: Nourse (Nick) NWO

Top Lady: Simmons (Alison) BOK

Top Junior: Perry (Tom) DEVON


Winner & Top Junior: Ward (Rebecca) NGOC

Top Man: Hext (Tony) QO

Short Green:

Winner: Vigar (Bill) QO

Top Lady: Green (Jill) DEVON

Light Green:

Winner & Top Junior: Medlock (Lyra) WSX

Top Man: Perry (Ben) DEVON


Winner & Top Junior: Bratcher-Howard (Harry) WIM


Winner: Bratcher-Howard (Monty) WIM

Top lady: Medlock (Eskarina) WSX

SWOA Galoppen Scoring System – Updated as of 20 March 2014

1. Points are awarded only on the Brown, Blue, Green, Short Green, Light Green,
Orange and Yellow courses at Galoppen events.

2. Only members of SWOA on the day of the event score points. Runs must be
alone and unassisted for the competitor to score. Only a competitor’s first run

3. On each course the fastest SWOA competitor earns 1000 points. Other
competitors are awarded points using this calculation: Points = 1000 x fastest
time/competitor’s time. Points are not transferable between courses.

4. The results of competitors who have not completed three or more events on
the same colour course will not count in the calculation of the final scores for
the series; points will be recalculated omitting those competitors’ times.

5. The best five from nine events shall be used to calculate the score for the
series. If for any reason there are a different number of events the number to
count shall be: six from ten, five from eight, four from seven, four from six.

6. The competitor with the most points on a course will keep the perpetual
trophy for a year. Other awards will be made at the discretion of the Scorer and
SWOA and may vary from year to year. Trophies and awards can only be won by
competitors who have scored points in at least three events in the series.

A picture of the Galoppen trophies can be found here. Photo courtesy of Trevor Bridle

For previous Galoppen scores and prize winners, please see the Archive section.